Meet Our Administrator

Kyle Defur

Kyle DeFur

President, St.Vincent Indianapolis Hospital

In his role as president since 2007, Kyle DeFur is responsible for oversight of St.Vincent Indianapolis Hospital consisting of four inpatient facilities comprising approximately 900 beds, and numerous outpatient facilities. The inpatient facilities include St.Vincent Indianapolis Hospital, St.Vincent Women’s Hospital, Peyton Manning Children’s Hospital at St.Vincent and St.Vincent Stress Center.

DeFur is focused on growth through strategic partnerships with physicians and hospitals, and on improving quality, efficiency and safety though the aggressive implementation of LEAN process improvement methodology throughout the organization . Under DeFur’s leadership, St.Vincent Indianapolis Hospital was named among the America’s 50 Best Hospitals by Becker’s Hospital Review for putting “patients’ needs first, innovation and setting the bar for high-quality care.” St.Vincent was the only Indiana hospital in 2011 to receive America’s 50 Best Hospitals achievement, which features acute-care, multi-specialty academic medical centers and large community hospitals. St.Vincent Hospital also earned the 2011 100 Top Hospitals award for the fifth time and third consecutive year by Thomson Reuters and was the recipient of the Everest Award in 2008 and 2009 for National Benchmarks from Thomson Reuters.

Prior to joining St.Vincent Indianapolis, DeFur served as president of Saint John’s Health System in Anderson, Indiana (now part of St.Vincent Health), for four years.

DeFur holds both a master’s degree in Hospital Administration and a master’s degree in Business Administration from Xavier University, Cincinnati, and a bachelor’s degree from Anderson University. He is board certified in Healthcare Management and a Fellow in the American College of Healthcare Executives. DeFur serves on the board for the Greater Indianapolis Chamber of Commerce, Greater Indianapolis Progress Committee, Indiana Youth Institute, Greater Indianapolis YMCA and Anderson University. Additionally, he was the Chair of the 2011 Heart of Gold Ball for the American Heart Association.